Buhari sacks Service Chiefs, names replacements

President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed new service chiefs to replace the retiring ones, who had held the various military top offices since 2015.

The President had, in a New Year televised message to Nigerians, hinted that he would be making critical security changes in 2021 with the aim of salvaging the nation’s escalating security situation.

In a statement by his Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, Buhari was said to have accepted the resignation of the former service chiefs and immediately named their replacements.

According to the statement, Major General Leo Irabor has replaced General Abayomi Olonisakin as Chief of Defense Staff; Major-General Ibrahim Attahiru replaced Lieutenant-General Tukur Buratai as Chief of Army Staff; Rear-Admiral A.Z Gambo replaced Vice-Admiral Ibok Ekwe Obad as Chief of Naval Staff; while Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao replaced Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar as Chief of Air Staff.

“President Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service, the statement added.

No comments